WestCoastRap.Club logo
Telegram Channel
Da Lench Mob photo

Da Lench Mob

Location:Los Angeles, CA
Genre:Gangsta Rap
Purchase all 5.98 C


Da Lench Mob (originally Tha Lench Mob) were Ice Cube's crew after he left N.W.A.. The original members all came from the same area of South Central, Los Angeles. Their first appearance was on Ice Cube's debut solo album, AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted.

Original lineup: Ice Cube, Sir Jinx, Chilly Chill, Shorty, J-Dee, T-Bone, K-Dee, Dazzie Dee, Del Tha Funkee Homosapien, Yo-Yo, Threi, Zulu Ed, Big Caz, W.C., Crazy Toones, etc. The group was later reduced to a trio. K-Dee and Sir Jinx can be seen on the cover of N.W.A. And The Posse. Dazzie Dee had a solo release as early as 1988, so they were all very familiar with N.W.A. before Ice Cube left the group.

In 1992 Da Lench Mob – Shorty, J-Dee, and T-Bone – struck out on their own, with Ice Cube as their executive producer. Their debut album, Guerillas In Tha Mist, was released in the same year. The video for the album's lead single, also titled "Guerillas In Tha Mist", became popular in the fall of 1992. In 1993 J-Dee was sentenced to life in prison for murder. Rather than disband, the remaining members of the group brought in Oakland-based rapper Maulkie for their second and final album, Planet Of Da Apes, released in 1994. They broke up soon afterwards. Shorty stopped rapping and became a member of the Nation of Islam. He died in June 2019; the cause of death has not been disclosed.

"Guerillas In Tha Mist" was featured on the Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas soundtrack, on the West Coast hip hop radio station Radio Los Santos.